Ministry of Hajj
Ministry of Hajj
Ministry of Hajj
Hajj Notices
Hajj Questionnaire

Shahadah (Declaration of Faith)

Pilgrim reading the Holy Quran Click to view high resolution version

Pilgrim reading the Holy Quran

The first of the five pillars of Islam is the profession of faith in pronouncing of the words that "There is no God but Allah and Muhammad is His Prophet". This Shahadah, or testimony, when recited by a person of sincerity, sound capacity and without any mental reservations, constitutes the first major requirement for being a Muslim. Through this public profession of faith, the individual becomes part of the Islamic community. To become a Muslim, one need only repeat the Shahadah three times before witnesses.

Of parallel importance and in accordance with the Shahadah is the The Six Articles of Faith. These are belief in unity of one God, belief in Angels of God, belief in Scriptures of God, belief in all the Prophets of God, belief in a general Resurrection and the total submission to the will of the Creator and acceptance of fate - be it good or bad.

The Shahadah appears on the flag of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, a powerful and ubiquitous reminder of the role of the Kingdom as the birthplace of Islam and the Guardian of Islam's holiest sites.